Julie Yuqing YeNorway

    Julie Yuqing Ye was admitted to the Young Talents Program at the Barratt Due Institute of Music in Oslo at the age of eight.

    Currently she is doing her Diploma course at the Norwegian Music Academy in Oslo, taking lessons with Marianna Shirinyan and Håvard Gimse, as well studying for Guildhall Artist Masters in Performance at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama with Charles Owen and Katya Apekisheva.

    Julie was awarded First Prize in the Jugend Musiziert 1998, Germany, and has won First Prizes in the Norwegian Music Competition for Youth in both solo, duo and ensemble cate- gories. Among other awards and prizes are the Sparre-Olsen Competition, Statkraft’s Young Star Award and the Fure Foundation’s Inspiration Prize.

    She has played with several orchestras, including Oslo Symphony Orchestra, performing Grieg’s Piano Concerto in the Oslo Concert Hall and Chopin’s Piano Concerto in E-minor at the Norwegian Academy of Music. She was also a soloist with the Norwegian Youth Orches- tra in the Norwegian National Opera and Ballet.

    Among her TV appearances are the Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation’s (NRK) New Year Concert and their Masterclass series featuring Leif Ove Andsnes.

    Together with her quintet Gullfiskene she performed in Wigmore Hall, London, and also par- ticipated in concerts and festivals like the Trondheim International Chamber Music Festival, Bergen Music Festival and the EMCY European Concert in Switzerland. In 2009 the quintet went on a concert tour in Norway sponsored by Musikkens Venner.

    As both a soloist and chamber musician she has participated in many national and in- ternational master classes and festivals, including Oxford Philomusica Piano Festival and Summer Academy, Beijing International Music Festival and Academy, Trondheim In- ternational Chamber Music Festival, International Summer Academy Mozarteum and Astona International of Switzerland.

    She has had lessons with among others Menahem Pressler, Dmitri Bashkirov, Stephen Ko- vacevich, Kathryn Stott, Jerome Lowenthal and Bernd Goetzke.